The information below comes from the statement of deficiencies compiled by health inspectors and provided to AHCJ by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. It does not include the steps the hospital plans to take to fix the problem, known as a plan of correction. For that information, you should contact the hospital, your state health department or CMS. Accessing the document may require you to file a Freedom of Information Request. Information on doing so is available here.

WASHINGTON REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER 3215 N NORTH HILLS BOULEVARD FAYETTEVILLE, AR 72703 Dec. 12, 2012
VIOLATION: PATIENT RIGHTS: CARE IN SAFE SETTING Tag No: A0144
**NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY**

Based on clinical record review, policy review, documents #1, #2 and #3, time card review and History Report on 01/02/13-01/22/13 it was determined the facility did not protect patients from abuse during an investigation of an allegation of abuse by a staff member. This failed practice had the potential to affect all patients in the facility. Findings follow:

1. Review of the clinical record for Patient #1 (the patient in the complaint) revealed Patient #1 (MDS) dated [DATE] at 1412 with a complaint of vaginal bleeding. It was documented on the Nurses Note timed 1621 on 08/13/2012 " Time 1610, In to talk with pt (patient) as the the charge nurse to answer a complaint-pt tearful-listened to her c/o (complaint)-reassurance given. "

2. Document-1 (no title or date) revealed " To whom it may concern I am writing down the events as I recall them that occurred on 08-13-12 regarding (named patient #1) ...Patient #1 was trembling and crying ...Patient #1 stated that immediately returning from ultrasound (named ER Tech) came into her room ...and then he put two fingers inside. He went out and then came back in my room and said let me check again and he pushed on my stomach and grabbed my boob ...Charge Nurse notified who immediately came in to speak with patient #1.

Document-2 (no title) dated Monday August 13-1610 revealed " went to talk to patient about a complaint ...(Named) was in room with patient and patient was crying. She told us she was upset because (Named), the ER Tech had touched her. " Document -2 was signed by RN #3.

Document -3 (no title) dated 08-16-12 revealed ...I overhead paged him to come to Bay 2. A few minutes later (ER Tech) came to Bay 2 ...I told (ER Tech) that he needed to stay out of Room 1 per the Nursing Supervisor ...Document 1 signed by RN #4

3. Policy #WRMS-1.03A PATIENT RIGHTS-Freedom from All Forms of Abuse
PROTECTING-WRMC will protect patients from abuse during investigation of any allegation of abuse or neglect or harassment by reassignment of staff ...
INVESTIGATING-During an investigation, an employee may be removed from a unit or suspended from employment until the investigation is complete.

4. Time Card review revealed patient worked the following hours:
Monday 08-13-2012-start time 0645 end time 1915
Tuesday 08-14-2012-in-0639 out-1908

5. Review of History Report-ER Access Report of revealed the ER Tech (accused) of potential patient abuse continued to work in the ER from 0635-1918 on 08-13-2012.
VIOLATION: PATIENT RIGHTS: FREE FROM ABUSE/HARASSMENT Tag No: A0145
**NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY**

Based on clinical record review, policy review, documents #1, #2 and #3, time card review and History Report on 01/02/13-01/22/13 it was determined the facility did not protect patients from all forms of abuse and harassment by a staff member. This failed practice had the potential to affect all patients in the facility.
Findings follow:

1. Review of the clinical record for Patient #1 (the patient in the complaint) revealed Patient #1 (MDS) dated [DATE] at 1412 with a complaint of vaginal bleeding. It was documented on the Nurses Note timed 1621 on 08/13/2012 "Time 1610, In to talk with pt (patient) as the the charge nurse to answer a complaint-pt tearful-listened to her c/o (complaint)-reassurance given."

2. Document-1 (no title or date) revealed "To whom it may concern I am writing down the events as I recall them that occurred on 08-13-12 regarding (named Patient #1) ...Patient #1 was trembling and crying ...Patient #1 stated that immediately returning from ultrasound (ER Tech) came into her room ...and then he put two fingers inside. He went out and then came back in my room and said let me check again and he pushed on my stomach and grabbed my boob ...Charge Nurse notified who immediately came in to speak with Patient #1.

Document-2 (no title) dated Monday August 13-1610 revealed "went to talk to patient about a complaint ...(Named) was in room with patient and patient was crying. She told us she was upset because the ER Tech had touched her." Document -2 was signed by RN #3.

Document -3 (no title) dated 08-16-12 revealed ...I overhead paged him to come to Bay 2. A few minutes later (ER Tech) came to Bay 2 ...I told (ER Tech) that he needed to stay out of Room 1 per the Nursing Supervisor ...Document 3 signed by RN #4

3. Policy #WRMS-1.03A PATIENT RIGHTS-Freedom from All Forms of Abuse
PROTECTING-WRMC will protect patients from abuse during investigation of any allegation of abuse or neglect or harassment by reassignment of staff ...
INVESTIGATING-During an investigation, an employee may be removed from a unit or suspended from employment until the investigation is complete.

4. Time Card review revealed the ER Tech (accused) worked the following hours:
Monday 08-13-2012-start time 0645 end time 1915
Tuesday 08-14-2012-in-0639 out-1908

5. Review of History Report-ER Access Report of revealed the ER Tech (accused) of potential patient abuse continued to work in the ER from 0635-1918 on 08-13-2012.